You are currently browsing the archives for the “Christopher Fowler” tag.

New Release: Gaslight Arcanum

September 14th, 2011

Sherlock Holmes plunges from Reichenbach Falls and wakes to find himself in the care of a mysterious inventor with a terrible secret in my new dark mystery story “The Executioner,” out now in Gaslight Arcanum, the third in a series of Holmes anthologies from Charles Prepolec, Jeff Campbell, and the good people at Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy.

The book features an amazing cover by Dave Elsey, who won the Academy Award ® for his make-up design on The Wolfman (2010), and a wonderfully surreal frontispiece by Hellboy creator Mike Mignola.

In addition, six of the twelve stories (including “The Executioner”) feature scene-specific illustrations by Luke Eidenschink, winner of the International Illustrators of the Future Award.

The book’s list of contributors includes some of the top names in dark fiction, including my good friends Stephen Volk and Simon Kurt Unsworth — both of whom also accompanied me on the contents page of Edge’s previous Holmes collection, Gaslight Grotesque.

With additional stories by Christopher Fowler, Kim Newman, Paul Kane, Tom English, Tony Richards, William Meikle, Fred Saberhagan, Kevin Cockle, and Simon Clark, this is one book you won’t want to miss.

Two years ago, when Gaslight Grotesque debuted at World Fantasy – San Jose, I presented an excerpt from my story “The Death Lantern” at a reception hosted by Edge. Next month I hope to be reading a portion of “The Executioner” at World Fantasy – San Diego. If you’re attending, I’ll hope to see you in the gaslight.

2011 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

September 4th, 2011

The World Fantasy Convention 2011 will be held October 27-30 in San Diego, California.
Judges are Andrew Hook, Sascha Mamczak, Mark Rich, Sean Wallace, and Kim Wilkins

Life Achievement

winner Peter S. Beagle
winner Angélica Gorodischer

Lauren Beukes, Zoo City (Jacana (South Africa)/Angry Robot)
N K Jemisin, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, (Orbit)
Graham Joyce, The Silent Land (Gollancz/Doubleday)
Guy Gavriel Kay, Under Heaven (Viking Canada/Roc/Harper Voyager UK)
Karen Lord, Redemption In Indigo (Small Beer Press)
Nnedi Okorafor, Who Fears Death (DAW)

Elizabeth Bear, Bone and Jewel Creatures (Subterranean Press)
Michael Byers, The Broken Man (PS Publishing)
Elizabeth Hand, “The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon” (Stories: All-New Tales)
Tim Lebbon, “The Thief of Broken Toys” (ChiZine Publications)
GRR Martin, “The Mystery Knight” (Warriors)
Rachel Swirsky, “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window” (Subterranea, Summer 2010)

Short Story
Christopher Fowler, “Beautiful Men” (Visitants: Stories of Fallen Angels and Heavenly Hosts, edited by Stephen Jones, Ulysses Press)
Karen Joy Fowler, “Booth’s Ghost” (What I Didn’t See and Other Stories, Small Beer Press)
Kij Johnson, “Ponies” (
Joyce Carol Oates, “Fossil—Figures” (Stories: All-New Tales)
Mercurio D. Rivera, “Tu Sufrimiento Shall Protect Us” (Black Static #18, 08/09.10)

John Joseph Adams, ed., The Way of the Wizard (Prime)
Kate Bernheimer, ed., My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me (Penguin)
Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas, eds., Haunted Legends (Tor)
Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio, eds., Stories: All-New Tales (Morrow/Headline Review)
S. T. Joshi, ed., Black Wings: New Tales of Lovecraftian Horror (PS Publishing)
Jonathan Strahan and Lou Anders, eds., Swords & Dark Magic (Eos)

Karen Joy Fowler, What I Didn’t See and Other Stories (Small Beer Press)
Caitlin R. Kiernan, The Ammonite Violin & Others (Subterranean Press)
M. Rickert, Holiday (Golden Gryphon)
Angela Slatter, Sourdough and Other Stories (Tartarus Press)
Jeff VanderMeer, The Third Bear (Tachyon)

Vincent Chong
Kinuko Y. Craft
Richard A. Kirk
John Picacio
Shaun Tan

Special Award—Professional
John Joseph Adams, for editing and anthologies
Lou Anders, for editing at Pyr
Marc Gascoigne, for Angry Robot
Stéphane Marsan and Alain Névant, for Bragelonne
Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine

Special Award—Non-professional
Stephen Jones, Michael Marshall Smith and Amanda Foubister, for Brighton Shock!: The Souvenir Book Of The World Horror Convention 2010
Alisa Krasnostein, for Twelfth Planet Press
Matthew Kressel, for Sybil’s Garage and Senses Five Press
Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker
Lavie Tidhar, for The World SF blog